



## 9th International Workshop on

# **Broadband Wireless Access**

December 9th 2013, Atlanta, USA

In conjunction with IEEE GLOBECOM 2013. See http://bwaws.org/GLOBECOM2013

The 9th International Workshop on Broadband Wireless Access, co-located with Globecom 2013, will provide a continuation of the successful BWA workshop series. This year, 31 technical papers will be presented, covering a wide range of topics in the field of broadband wireless access research, and being complemented by the following keynote speakers and panelists:



VP Radio Access Network and VP Small Cells and CDMA Wireless Communications AT&T Labs



Dr. Bill Payne Nokia Solutions and Networks



**Prof. Gerhard Fettweis** Vodafone Chair TU Dresden, Germany



Dr. Gabor Fodor Master Researcher Ericsson



Dr. Chih-Lin I Chief Scientist Wireless Technologies China Mobile Research Institute

The broadband wireless access topics emphasized in this workshop are

- Novel physical layer techniques
- Novel MAC design for broadband wireless access
- Further evolution of multi-antenna and cooperative communications
- · Management of dense, heterogeneous networks
- · Novel forms of spectrum access and usage
- · Context-aware communications

We would be very happy to welcome you to the workshop. Please find registration information on the Globecom 2013 website under http://www.ieee-globecom.org/registration.html.

Looking forward to hopefully see you soon in Atlanta,

The Workshop General Chairs and TPC Chairs, Patrick Marsch, Andreas Maeder, Arun Ghosh, Giridhar K and Peter Fertl

### Workshop Agenda

9:30	Keynote speeches	
	Hank Kafka, VP Radio Access Network and Wireless Communications, AT&T Labs     Dr. Bill Payne, VP Small Cells and CDMA, Nokia Solutions and Networks     Prof. Gerhard Fettweis, Vodafone Chair, TU Dresden, Germany	
11:00	Coffee break & posters	
11:30	Paper Session 1 Novel PHY Techniques	Paper Session 2 Novel MAC Techniques
13:00	Poster Teasers	
13:15	Lunch break & posters	
14:30	Paper Session 3 Multi-Antenna and Cooperative Comms.	Paper Session 4 Spectrum, Cognitive Radio and HetNets
16:00	Coffee break & posters	
16:30	Panel presentations and discussion	

Dr. Patrick Marsch, Nokia Solutions and Networks, Poland Dr. Andreas Maeder, NEC Laboratories Europe, Germany

### TPC CHAIRS:

Dr. Arun Ghosh, AT&T Labs, USA Prof. Giridhar K. IIT Madras, India Dr. Peter Fertl, BMW Group Research & Techn., Germany

### STEERING COMMITTEE:

Prof. Thomas M. Bohnert, Zurich Univ. of Appl. Sciences,

Dr. Dirk Staehle, DOCOMO Communications Laboratories

Europe, Germany Dr. Gabor Fodor, Ericsson Research, Sweden

### TECHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTEE:

CHNICAL PROGRAM COMMITTE:

Neda Aboutarab (Australian National University), Abdulkareem Adinoyi (Carleton University), Mari Carmen Aguayo-Torres (University of Malaga), Khalid Al-Begain (University of Guiseppa Alfano (Politecnico di Torino), Tara Ali Yahira (University Paris Sud), Sergey Andreev (Tampere University of Technology), Guiseppa Avellone (ST Microelectronics), Leonardo Badia (Universita degli Studi di Padua), Francisco Barcelo-Arroyo (Universitat Politecnia de Catalunya), Marco Belleschi (Ericsson), Francisco Cercas (ISCTE-IUL), Swades De (IIT Delhi), Antonio de la Oliva (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid), Guido Dietl (University of Applied Sciences Landshut), Mian Dong (Samsung), Klaus Doppler (Nokia), Michael Einhaus (Panasonic), Mauro Femminella (University of Perugia), Marco Fiore (National Research Council of Italy), Frank Frederiksen (Nokia Siemens Networks), Sudhanshu Gaur (Hitachi America), Michael Grieger (TU Dresden, Germany), Ilikak Harjula (VTT, Finland), Peyman Hesami (University of Notre Dame), Patrick Hosein (University of the West Indies), Joakim Jalden (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Eduard Jorswieck (Dresden University of Technology), Volker Jungnickel (Fraunhofer Heinrich Hertz Institute), Juha Karjalainen (Renesas Mobile Europe), Witold Krzymien (University of Alberta / TR Labs), Ying Li (Samsung Telecommunications America), Jia-Chin Lin (National Central University), Giridhar Mandayam (Qualcomm), Gerald Matz (Vienna University of Technology), Christoph Mecklenbräuker (Vienna University of Technology), Guoweng Miao (KTH Royal Institute of Technology), Melody Moh (San Jose State University), Keivan Navaie (University of Leeds), Al-Chun Pang (National Taliwan University), Klaus Pedersen (Nokia Siemens Networks), Simone Redana (Nokia Siemens Networks), Simone Redana (Nokia Siemens Networks), Mark Reed (Australlan National University) of Technology), Viava Robiero (Iliviersity of Technology), Peter Rost (NEC Laboratories Europe), Jorge Sa Silva (University of Coimbra), Pielrulgig Voigt (Actix), Florian Wamser (University of Wuerzburg), Dirk Wuebben (University of Bremen), Wei Zhang (University of South Wales)













